Like This, Read That, Lists

If You Like Gilmore Girls, Read…

gilmore_girlsJust under one week from today, it will be October 1st. And do you know what happens on October 1st? All seven seasons on Gilmore Girls become available for streaming on Netflix. So…you know what I’ll be doing next Wednesday (I’ll also be ordering Chinese take-out). In the meantime, before you can catch up with Rory and Lorelai, here are a few (or nine) books that have a bit of a Gilmore Girls feel.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple. The story of the eccentric Bernadette her daughter Bee – humorous family dysfunction and a lot of heart.

Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons. “One of the disadvantages of almost universal education was the fact that all kinds of persons acquired a familiarity with one’s favorite writers. It gave one a curious feeling; it was like seeing a drunken stranger wrapped in one’s dressing gown.” I feel like this is something that Rory would think (it’s weird to (seemingly) be referring to myself in the third person).

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Small town life featuring a quirky family, with charming wit and dialogue with one handsome and staid suitor (think Dean) and one handsome yet devious suitor (Jess).

The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown. Three women, sisters in this case, who love each other, but don’t like each other very much. And there’s nothing books can’t solve.

Empire Falls by Richard Russo. Set in a small Maine town and featuring quirky characters within the town, the novel focuses on the close-knit relationship between single father Miles and his teenage daughter (who loves book). Miles runs the town diner.

What to Read if You Like Gilmore Girls

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg. I haven’t read this one, but it was recommended by Katie at Words for Worms (also an avid Gilmore Girls fans) and Catherine at The Gilmore Guide to Books (who has never seen the show!).

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. The pop culture references.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. Small town life, witty observations, and complicated romance.

Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts. A pregnant teen, with no family support, finds herself making a home in a town filled with quirky, well-meaning citizens. Suggested by Andi over at Estella’s Revenge.

What books would you recommend for fan of Gilmore Girls?

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

%d bloggers like this: