Lists, Reviews

Summer Reading: 2014 Book Roundup

The summer reading season is almost here – for reference I’m defining summer as June through September – and I’m looking forward what precious little beach reading time I’ll have come July. Here are a few of the highlights from the upcoming season. For more recommendations – and because she gave me the idea – check out Shannon’s list over at River City Reading.

Summer Reading 1
01. The Spark and the Drive by Wayne Harrison. St. Martin’s Press, July 15th. “By an award-winning writer of short fiction, a devastatingly powerful debut novel of hero-worship, first love, and betrayal.”

02. Cry Father by Benjamin Whitmer. Gallery Books, September 16. “In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Larry Brown comes a haunting story about men, their fathers, their sons, and the legacy of violence.” *Local (Colorado) Author*

03. The Way Inn by Will Wiles. Harper Perennial, August 26. ” Up in the Air meets Inception in this smart, innovative, genre-synthesizing novel from the acclaimed author of Care of Wooden Floors—hailed as “Fawlty Towers crossed with Freud,” by the Daily Telegraph—that takes the polished surfaces of modern life, the branded coffee, and the free wifi, and twists them into a surrealistic nightmare of infinite proportions”.

04. Never Mind Miss Fox by Olivia Glazebrook. Little, Brown and Company, August 19. ” Glazebrook’s darkly suspenseful tale of a family in crisis reveals how seemingly ordinary lives can contain extraordinary acts of destruction. Told with intensity and penetrating emotion, Never Mind Miss Fox is a compelling tale of vengeance, justice, and what it really means to make amends.”

05. The Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero. Doubleday, August 12. “A mesmerizing novel…what begins as a gothic ghost story soon evolves into a wickedly twisted treasure hunt in The Supernatural Enhancements, Edgar Cantero’s wholly original, modern-day adventure.”

06. The Future for Curious People by Gregory Sherl. August 6. “A novel that will capture you with its wit, its hopefulness, its anxious twists and turns, this love story is ultimately about finding happiness and accepting our fleeting existence. A love story about love stories.”

07. Season to Taste by Natalie Young. Little, Brown and Company, July 15. “Dark, unexpectedly funny, and achingly human, Season to Taste is a deliciously subversive treat. In Lizzie Prain, Natalie Young has created one of the most remarkable and surprising heroines in fiction.”

08. Ancient Oceans of Central Kentucky by David Connerley Nahm. Two Dollar Radio, July 21. “A jaw-droppingly gorgeous, mysterious, and lyric exploration of childhood, personal loss, ghost stories, and small-town life in rural Kentucky.”

09. Evergreen by Rebecca Rasmussen. Knopf, July 15. “From the celebrated author of The Bird Sisters, a gorgeously rendered and emotionally charged novel that spans generations, telling the story of two siblings, raised apart, attempting to share a life.”

10. High As The Horses’ Bridles by Scott Cheshire. Henry Holt and Co., July 8. “An urgent, electric debut novel about inheritance, belief, and a father and son divided by a dangerous prophecy; the arrival of a bold new voice and “a great new American epic””.

What books are you looking forward to this summer? Anything I should be sure to check out? I know more than a few of you are excited for Written in My Own Heart’s Blood and Armada…

 

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

%d bloggers like this: