Reviews

Freud’s Mistress by Karen Mack and Jennifer Kaufman

I am a dreamer. No, not the kind that fantasizes about becoming rich and famous or finally attaining my dream job (although if that one librarian at the U. S. Geological Survey library would give up her job, I would be most pleased). I dream, frequently and vividly (and sometimes lucidly), almost every night. I also remember most of my dreams. I can still clearly recall my worst nightmare, which occurred 14 years ago after watching The Ninth Gate. One of my oddest dreams involved spending the entire night trapped in the ocean, treading water, off the coast of Jamaica. I even occasionally dream about blogging and book reviewing, which can be disconcerting.

So it may come as no surprise that I approach Sigmund Freud with trepidation and mild disdain. Between his Oedipus Complex and the sexual interpretation of dreams (which he later claimed he wasn’t an advocate of), I’m wary of his research, though I do recognize his substantial contribution to twentieth century thought. ‘Freud’s Mistress’ by Karen Mack and Jennifer Kaufman does little to improve one’s opinion of the great Sigmund Freud. The book portrays him as a distant, fickle man obsessed with his research who rationalizes his infidelity with feeble excuses and his own theories on necessary sexuality.

Freud's Mistress
Minna Bernays is a bright, witty woman approaching the age at which she will be considered a spinster. She has been the companion and governess to numerous wealthy women and children after losing her father to a heart attack and her fiancé to tuberculosis. Too bright and headstrong to make any headway, she is dismissed from yet another position – leaving her no choice but to contact her sister. Martha, mother of six small children and wife to the distant, brilliant Freud, happily accepts Minna’s presence in her life. She can use her as a caretaker and a governess without having to pay her. Freud less willingly accepts her, at first. Minna is as different from Martha as two sisters could be. Martha is an empty-headed, opium obsessed housewife repulsed by Freud’s theories, though not a bad person. Minna is an intelligent bibliophile fascinated by Freud and happily engages in discussions on philosophy, sexuality, and marriage. It is not long before the two become infatuated with each other, unable to resist the temptation of falling into an affair.

Based on a mix of historical fact and speculation, Mack and Kaufman have beautifully recreated the world Freud inhabited. The novel’s strength lies in its evocative description of nineteenth century Vienna, as the characters are less than appealing. Freud is as egotistical and argumentative as you might imagine, Martha is an opiate addict who cannot handle her children, and Minna is continually fraught with guilt about her actions, yet unable to help herself. The novel is, however, a fascinating (if partly fictional) look into the personal world of a man who changed the face of modern psychology.

According to Katie Couric, ‘Freud’s Mistress’* will appeal to fans of ‘Loving Frank’ and ‘The Paris Wife’ – I’ve not read either book. If you loved those two titles, you may want to pick this novel up, assuming you trust Ms. Couric. This novel may also appeal to fans of Freud. As I fall into neither of category, I’m not the ideal audience. This does not mean I did not enjoy it, I did. The Vienna scenes depicted by Mack and Kaufman are stunning, as is capturing the role women were relegated to in society (particularly the role of an intelligent, unmarried woman). However, as I previously had little love for the father of psychoanalysis, I have even less now. I do need to remember that this depiction is fictional and that he may not have been quite so bad. Overall, the writing’s good, if dramatic (though I suppose illicit affairs probably are dramatic) and the story is intriguing and readable. I suspect fans of historical fiction will find this novel satisfying. 3.5/5.

I’m may be a dreamer, but I am not the only one*. Anyone else dream frequently and remember it? Or worry that any time you dream about an empty box, you are, in fact, thinking about your uterus?

beef stew

In the novel, Freud (he’s rarely referred to by his first name) will not eat chicken, only beef. There are a variety of stews and such, so I recommending Beef Stew with autumn vegetables. It looks good, but I cannot personally attest to this recipe.

*I received a copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion. It releases July 9, 2013 in the US.
*Borrowed from Imagine

1/2

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

%d bloggers like this: